Imogen Russell Williams

irw

This week, Imogen Russell Williams talks to Ivan about six things which she thinks should be better known.

  1. The Hounds of the Morrigan by Pat O’Shea www.fantasyliterature.com/reviews/the-hounds-of-the-morrigan/
  2. Carpe diem www.youtube.com/watch?v=DcxFTmBbrIk
  3. Knightmare www.ukgameshows.com/ukgs/Knightmare
  4. Susan Price’s Sterkarm Trilogy www.theguardian.com/books/2004/jan/17/featuresreviews.guardianreview31
  5. The role of libraries and librarians in schools www.publishersweekly.com/pw/by-topic/columns-and-blogs/soapbox/article/77275-the-importance-of-school-librarians.html
  6. Dyslexia and its impact www.jkp.com/jkpblog/2015/08/the-lifelong-social-and-emotional-effects-of-dyslexia/

Andy Reid

andy reid

Andy Reid talks to Ivan about six things which he thinks should be better known.

  1. The Kingdom https://film.avclub.com/the-new-cult-canon-lars-von-triers-the-kingdom-1798214674
  2. Nestle milk boycott http://www.babymilkaction.org/nestlefree
  3. Nuts in May www.bfi.org.uk/news-opinion/news-bfi/features/mike-leigh-nuts-may-alison-steadman
  4. The Hare with Amber Eyes www.edmunddewaal.com/writing/the-hare-with-amber-eyes/about
  5. The Greasy Strangler www.theguardian.com/film/2016/oct/04/greasy-strangler-jim-hosking
  6. Necrotising enterocolitis www.gosh.nhs.uk/medical-information/search-medical-conditions/necrotising-enterocolitis

Will Eaves

will-eaves

Will Eaves is a novelist, poet and teacher. His most recent novel is Murmur. http://www.theguardian.com/books/2018/apr/18/murmer-by-will-eaves-review-alan-turing

Will Eaves discusses with Ivan Wise six things which he thinks should be better known.

1. The Gigue from Handel’s Suite No 1 in A major, for Harpsichord http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dUAspawKf2w
2. The Walled Garden in Brockwell Park https://plewsgardendesign.co.uk/garden-visits-brockwell-park-walled-garden/
3. The paintings and drawings of Danny Markey http://www.redfern-gallery.com/artists/41-danny-markey/#/works/
4. The kindness and wisdom of my friend Bridget https://philosophynow.org/issues/126/Aristotle_on_Forming_Friendships
5. Erwin Schrodinger‘s Tanner lectures on Mind and Matter (1956) http://strangebeautiful.com/other-texts/schrodinger-what-is-life-mind-matter-auto-sketches.pdf
6. The novels Moon’s Ottery by Patricia Beer’s Moon’s Ottery and Sophie and the Sibyl by her niece Patricia Duncker http://www.theguardian.com/news/1999/aug/19/guardianobituaries.johnmullan

Henry Hitchings

hitchings

This week, Henry Hitchings discusses with Ivan six things which he thinks should be better known.

1. Theatre 503 http://www.bbc.co.uk/writersroom/opportunities/Theatre503

2. Germany as a tourist destination http://www.telegraph.co.uk/travel/destinations/europe/germany/articles/reasons-why-we-love-germany/

3. Etivaz cheese http://www.cheesesfromswitzerland.com/cheese-assortment/letivaz-aop.html

4. Fanny Burney http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/b05r3zjk

5. OV Wright http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ktmS2Te06do

6. Hans Baldung Grien https://art.famsf.org/hans-baldung-hans-baldung-grien

Kelleigh Greenberg-Jephcott

Kelleigh

This week, Kelleigh Greenberg-Jephcott discusses with Ivan six things which she thinks should be better known.

Kelleigh’s first novel Swan Song was chosen as one of The Times’ Books of 2018.

1. Blackwing Pencils https://palominobrands.com/blackwing/

2. The Savoy Cocktail Book, 1930 http://www.distillerytrail.com/blog/10-classic-cocktails-savoy-cocktail-book-infographic/

3. Marfa, Texas http://www.vogue.com/article/city-dwellers-guide-to-marfa-texas

4. Clay Felker, New York Magazine & the School of New Journalism https://senate.universityofcalifornia.edu/_files/inmemoriam/html/clayfelker.html

5. The Films of Hal Ashby https://variety.com/2018/film/news/hal-ashby-documentary-director-amy-scott-harold-and-maude-being-there-1202925246/

6. Edith Wharton’s Glimpses of the Moon https://heavenali.wordpress.com/2013/08/22/the-glimpses-of-the-moon-edith-wharton-1922/

Dave Pickering

Pickering

This week, Dave Pickering talks to Ivan about six things which he thinks should be better known.

1. Churchill’s crimes of empire https://crimesofbritain.com/2016/09/13/the-trial-of-winston-churchill/

2. Walking in London http://www.telegraph.co.uk/travel/destinations/europe/united-kingdom/england/london/articles/Londons-best-walks/

3. The Moomin Books by Tove Jansson http://www.theguardian.com/books/2014/jan/15/tove-jansson-life-words-westin-review

4. The Will to Change: Men, masculinity and love by bell hooks https://endofcapitalism.com/2009/01/20/review-of-the-will-to-change-men-masculinity-and-love/

5. The Expanse http://www.netflix.com/gb/title/80029822

6. The Boy Who Hasn’t Lived podcast http://www.theboywhohasntlived.com/

Alice Thwaite

Thwaite

This week, Alice Thwaite talks to Ivan about six things she thinks should be better known.

1. Do we want consensus in our public dialogue, or do we want diversity of thought? https://echochamber.club/why-we-should-sometimes-silence-others/

2. Our actions do not necessarily define our character http://www.nytimes.com/2015/02/15/magazine/how-one-stupid-tweet-ruined-justine-saccos-life.html

3. Our reality doesn’t just come from Facebook http://theconversation.com/the-myth-of-the-echo-chamber-92544

4. Jaco Pistorius http://www.thestacksreader.com/who-killed-jaco-pastorius/

5. Travel isn’t just about going to the amazing places that everyone has been to before http://www.reddit.com/r/unpopularopinion/comments/6d4eo0/travelling_is_overrated/

6. This Country http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/b09twr53/episodes/player