Adam Macqueen

Macqueen

Private Eye journalist and novelist Adam Macqueen discusses with Ivan six things which he thinks should be better known. You can find more about Adam.

Adam’s political thriller Beneath the Streets is available now. If you type RINKA at the checkout, you can get 30% off and free P&P within the UK.

His non-fiction books include Private Eye: The First 50 Years, The Prime Minister’s Ironing Board and other State Secrets and The Lies of the Land: An Honest History of Political Deceit.

  1. The RNLI https://www.theguardian.com/society/ng-interactive/2016/sep/06/rnli-photo-essay-graeme-robertson
  2. Dan Rhodes https://www.independent.co.uk/arts-entertainment/books/features/dan-rhodes-revenge-is-why-i-write-1888523.html
  3. The Crystal Palace dinosaurs https://www.southlondonclub.co.uk/blog/a-brief-history-of-the-crystal-palace-dinosaurs
  4. Marcia Falkender https://www.theguardian.com/politics/2019/feb/16/lady-falkender-obituary-marcia-williams
  5. The Hammer House of Horror TV series http://londonhorrorsociety.co.uk/five-best-episodes-of-hammer-horror-tv-series/
  6. The New Creation https://tedium.co/2017/01/09/countering-the-counterculture/

Timandra Harkness

Harkness

Timandra Harkness talks to Ivan about six things which she thinks should be better known.

Timandra is a presenter, writer and comedian. She has presented BBC Radio 4 documentaries including Divided Nation and the FutureProofing series. Her book, Big Data: Does Size Matter? was published in 2016. Find out more about Timandra at https://timandraharkness.com/.

  1. Kingdom Coming (aka Year of Jubilo) by George Melly https://civilwarfolkmusic.com/2013/02/23/1862-kingdom-coming-work/
  2. Anchovy paste https://www.gq.com/story/anchovy-paste-use-secret-ingredient
  3. Crossness Pumping Station http://www.crossness.org.uk
  4. Archy and Mehitabel by Dom Marquis http://www.librarything.com/work/29840/reviews/72394368
  5. Pineau de Charentes. https://www.forbes.com/sites/courtneyschiessl/2019/03/19/pineau-des-charentes-cognac-go-to/
  6. Data can tell a lot about WHAT you are but not who you are https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tdilkRC4YVw

Lindsay Johns

LMJ

Writer and broadcaster Lindsay Johns discusses with Ivan six things which he thinks should be better known. Find out more about Lindsay at www.lindsayjohns.com.

  1. The novels of Alex La Guma https://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/b09qcyy0
  2. Archibald Motley, Jr https://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/m000f6xd
  3. To A Poet A Thousand Years HencebyJames Elroy Flecker  https://beta.spectator.co.uk/article/why-james-elroy-flecker-deserves-our-attention
  4. The Martinican film Rue Cases – Negres (1983) http://www.theroot.com/articles/culture/2013/08/honoring_the_french_film_rue_casesnegres/
  5. Platelet donation http://www.blood.co.uk/platelets/ and https://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/m00074hj
  6. Crispy Bamboo Village https://foursquare.com/v/crispy-bamboo-village/4bf348fce5eba593c8711e90/menu

Aceil Haddad

Haddad

Aceil Haddad talks to Ivan about six things which she thinks should be better known.

  1. British seaside towns https://www.roughguides.com/special-features/britains-30-best-seaside-towns/
  2. Charity Shops for sustainable fashion https://www.charityretail.org.uk/charity-shops-the-ethical-and-sustainable-alternative-to-fast-fashion/
  3. Maternity and Pregnancy discrimination https://pregnantthenscrewed.com/
  4. Split Ticketing https://www.splitticketing.com/
  5. The importance of intuition http://theconversation.com/is-it-rational-to-trust-your-gut-feelings-a-neuroscientist-explains-95086
  6. The value of friendships https://www.theguardian.com/lifeandstyle/2019/dec/19/adult-friendships-can-be-effortful-and-elastic-thats-what-makes-them-special

Susannah Clapp

Clapp

Susannah Clapp, theatre critic of The Observer, discusses with Ivan six things which should be better known.

1. Francis Wyndham https://www.theguardian.com/books/2018/jan/09/francis-wyndham-obituary
2. Beatbox Academy https://www.bac.org.uk/content/39748/whats_on/whats_on/events_and_workshops/bac_beatbox_academy
3. Dressing Gowns https://fiveminutehistory.com/10-victorian-dressing-gowns/
4. Armenian postcards https://armenianweekly.com/2011/07/05/old-armenian-postcards-preserve-the-past/
5. Pallant Gallery, Chichester https://pallant.org.uk/
6. Building a Library https://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/articles/4fv78szmZmvB73p2bstPVTT/building-a-library-living-with-the-pathetique

Jim Shepard

jim_shepard_2148_square

Jim Shepard discusses with Ivan six things which should be better known.

Jim has written seven novels, including The Book of Aron, which won the Sophie Brody Medal for Jewish Literature, the PEN/New England Award for Fiction, and the Clark Fiction Prize, and five story collections, including Like You’d Understand, Anyway, a finalist for the National Book Award and Story Prize winner.   Seven of his stories have been chosen for the Best American Short Stories, two for the PEN/O. Henry Prize Stories, and two for Pushcart Prizes.   He’s also won the Library of Congress/ Massachusetts Book Award for Fiction and the ALEX Award from the American Library Association.  He teaches at Williams College. You can read more about Jim.

  1. Paestum http://www.amalficoastdrivers.com/paestum.asp
  2. Muddy Waters’ album Fathers and Sons https://www.rollingstone.com/music/music-album-reviews/fathers-sons-90263/
  3. Maria Beig https://www.theparisreview.org/blog/2015/10/16/no-judgment-no-message-no-mercy/
  4. Eric Schlosser’s Command and Control https://www.nytimes.com/2013/09/15/books/review/command-and-control-by-eric-schlosser.html
  5. Writer’s Tears http://walshwhiskey.com/writers-tears-copper-pot/
  6. Mike Leigh’s Topsy-Turvy https://www.nybooks.com/articles/2000/02/24/stompin-at-the-savoy/

Allison Dufosee

Dufosee

Allison Dufosee discusses with Ivan six things which she thinks should be better known.

Allison is the chief executive of World Bicycle Relief.

1. World Bicycle Relief http://www.worldbicyclerelief.org

2. Stem Cell Donation https://www.anthonynolan.org/

3. Barter Books https://www.barterbooks.co.uk/index.php

4. Gary Rhodes Shepherd’s Pie https://www.amazon.com/New-British-Classics-Gary-Rhodes/dp/0563534117

5. The Ginstitute https://www.theginstitute.com/the-experience/

6. Full Fact http://www.fullfact.org Dufosee