Joel Whitney

Whitney

Joel Whitney talks to Ivan about six things which he thinks should be better known.

Joel is the author of Finks: How the CIA Tricked the World’s Best Writers.

  1. Essential American Poets series https://www.poetryfoundation.org/podcasts/series/74631/essentialpoets
  2. When they see us https://www.independent.co.uk/arts-entertainment/tv/reviews/when-they-see-us-netflix-review-central-park-five-ava-duvernay-new-york-cast-trailer-a8936816.html
  3. Spitting on Richard Nixon https://www.politico.com/story/2014/05/vice-president-nixons-motorcade-attacked-in-venezuela-may-13-1958-106584
  4. Elizabeth Buffum Chace http://www.womenhistoryblog.com/2016/06/elizabeth-buffum-chace.html
  5. The Family https://www.rollingstone.com/culture/culture-features/netflix-the-family-jesse-moss-secret-christian-cult-washington-dc-869396/
  6. TWA Hotel at JFX International Airport https://time.com/5589561/twa-hotel-jfk/

Hugh Bicheno

Bicheno

Hugh Bicheno talks to Ivan about six things which he thinks should be better known.

  1. Richard von Coudenhove-Kalergi https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Richard_von_Coudenhove-Kalergi
  2. Sir Benjamin Thompson https://www.britannica.com/biography/Sir-Benjamin-Thompson-Graf-von-Rumford
  3. Marguerite of Anjou https://www.historyhit.com/facts-about-margaret-of-anjou/
  4. First Anglo-Sikh war http://www.vam.ac.uk/content/articles/t/sikh-wars-and-annexation-of-the-panjab/
  5. The 1973 coup d’état in Chile https://www.theguardian.com/world/2013/sep/07/chile-coup-pinochet-allende
  6. Pablo Escobar https://www.independent.co.uk/news/people/obituary-pablo-escobar-1465149.html

Hugh Bicheno was born in Cuba to British parents and went to school in Cuba, Chile and Scotland before winning a scholarship to Emmanuel College, Cambridge, where he won a first-class honours degree in History.

He was first an academic and then an officer in the Secret Intelligence Service. Later he became a security consultant specializing in kidnap negotiations in Latin America. He lived in the United States for several years and became a naturalised citizen, but now lives in England.

He is best known for his best-selling Razor’s Edge: The Unofficial History of the Falklands War, praised as the best account of the war by Major General Julian Thompson, the British Land Commander during the campaign.

His most recent published work is a two-volume history of the Wars of the Roses, Battle Royaland Blood Royal. A second edition combining both in a single volume and titled The Wars of the Roses was published on 5th September.

Joe Thomas

OMH16023_JOE_THOMAS_XP19852

Joe Thomas talks to Ivan about six things which he thinks should be better known. Joe’s novels include Paradise City, Gringa and Playboy. You can read more about Joe here.

  1. The crime novels of Sara Gran https://crimereads.com/sara-grans-infinite-mysteries/
  2. The Brazilian musicians Cazuza and Tim Maia https://library.brown.edu/create/fivecenturiesofchange/chapters/chapter-8/aids/cazuza-brazils-first-public-face-of-aids/
  3. Levels of the Game by John McPhee https://www.theguardian.com/books/2014/jun/28/john-mcphee-levels-game-more-great-sportswriting-tennis-william-fiennes
  4. Willy Vlautin https://www.faber.co.uk/blog/disposable-diaries-willy-vlautin/
  5. Laura Barton’s Notes from a Musical Island https://www.theguardian.com/tv-and-radio/2016/mar/13/laura-barton-notes-musical-island-saturday-night-movies-hip-hop-saved-life-rolling-stone-review
  6. The short stories of Lucy Caldwell https://www.irishtimes.com/culture/books/cyprus-avenue-a-short-story-by-lucy-caldwell-1.2642289

Wasfi Kani

GPO-111.jpg

Wasfi Kani of Grange Park Opera, Surrey talks to Ivan about six things which she thinks should be better known.

  1. Ostia Antica https://www.ricksteves.com/watch-read-listen/read/articles/ostia-antica-near-rome
  2. History of Countryside by Oliver Rackham https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/1188837.The_History_of_the_Countryside
  3. Statistics around imprisonment https://researchbriefings.files.parliament.uk/documents/SN04334/SN04334.pdf
  4. The Leopard https://www.theguardian.com/film/2010/aug/26/the-leopard-film-review
  5. Chamber music – Beethoven op 131 or Brahms sextet https://www.talkclassical.com/50161-chamber-music-thread.html
  6. Pericles quote https://en.wikiquote.org/wiki/Pericles

Grange Opera62

Phil Shaw

21x_ULqEyFdgbNJ4C3Vn

Artist Phil Shaw discusses with Ivan six things which he thinks should be better known. You can find out more about his work at https://www.rebeccahossack.com/artists/72-phil-shaw/overview/.

  1. Jeffrey Edwards prints https://www.tate.org.uk/art/artists/jeffery-edwards-1050
  2. The Big Three live at the Cavern https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fRfQ-hm3APs
  3. Musica Prisca Caput by Nicola Vicentino https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0akGtDPVRxk
  4. The Face on the Wall by EV Lucas https://web.iiit.ac.in/~nirnimesh/Literature/The%20Face%20on%20the%20Wall.htm
  5. Unthinking, Unthoughts and Unthunk by Les Coleman https://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/obituaries/9903438/Les-Coleman.html
  6. Rhum baba https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rum_baba

Charles J Shields

Shields

Charles J Shields talks to Ivan about six things which he thinks should be better known. His biographies include Mockingbird: A Portrait of Harper Lee (2006), And So It Goes: Kurt Vonnegut (2011) and The Man Who Wrote The Perfect Novel: John Williams, Stoner and the Writing Life (2018). You can read more about Charles at http://www.charlesjshields.net and can

1. Reversing the Chicago River https://www.chicagoline.com/blog/chicago-river-reversal/

2. Winston Churchill at the Front in World War I https://winstonchurchill.org/publications/finest-hour/finest-hour-176/books-churchill-at-the-front/

3. Burr Oak Cemetery near Chicago https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Burr_Oak_Cemetery

4. Hero of Alexandria https://gizmodo.com/the-amazing-ancient-machines-of-hero-of-alexandria-1533213972

5. James Weldon Johnson’s The Autobiography of an Ex-Colored Man
https://www.english.illinois.edu/maps/poets/g_l/johnson/life.htm

6. André Maurois’ biographies https://www.jewishvirtuallibrary.org/maurois-andr-x00e9

Carl Rollyson

Rollyson

Carl Rollyson discusses with Ivan six things which he thinks should be better known. You can read more about Carl and his books at http://www.carlrollyson.com.

1. Harriet Hume by Rebecca West https://www.nybooks.com/articles/1982/08/12/staying-the-course/

2. The Searching Wind by Lillian Hellmann https://www.timeout.com/london/film/the-searching-wind

3. Fallen Angel http://www.noiroftheweek.com/2005/07/fallen-angel-1945-72005.html

4. Clash by Night https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Clash_by_Night

5. The Mansion by William Faulkner https://brickmag.com/the-mansion-by-william-faulkner/

6. Plutarch award for biography https://biographersinternational.org/topic/plutarch-award/