Richard Barnett

richard-barnett-2-colour-small

This week, Dr Richard Barnett discusses six things with Ivan which he thinks should be better known.

  1. Russell Hoban’s Pilgermann www.nytimes.com/1983/05/29/books/exiled-from-wisdom.html
  2. Kedgeree www.coop.co.uk/recipes/quick-and-spicy-kedgeree
  3. Wittgenstein’s service in World War One www.military-history.org/articles/thinkers-at-war-wittgenstein.htm
  4. Tarbat Discovery Centre in Portmahomack www.tarbat-discovery.co.uk
  5. Simon Munnery https://www.theguardian.com/stage/2013/jun/27/simon-munnery-hello-comedy-gold
  6. John Fahey’s On the Banks of the Owchita https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jJghX8bInXY

Sam Dodson and Dan Sutherland

Rulebook

This week, Sam Dodson and Dan Sutherland from Nothing in the Rulebook discuss with Ivan six things which should be better known.

1. The Future Library project in Norway http://www.futurelibrary.no

2. Dr Chuck Tingle Professor of Massage https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Chuck_Tingle

3. The bad sex in fiction awards http://www.literaryreview.co.uk/bad-sex-in-fiction-award

4. No Alibis book shop http://www.noalibis.com

5. Richard Serra’s “portend I slugten” at the Louisiana art gallery in Denmark http://channel.louisiana.dk/video/richard-serra-porten-i-slugten

6. Josh Spiller’s IF comic book anthology on superheroes
http://www.joshspillercomics.tumblr.com

Emma John

John

This week, Emma John discusses with Ivan her six choices which should be better known.

1. The town of Chapel Hill, North Carolina https://vacationidea.com/destinations/best-things-to-do-in-chapel-hill-nc.html

2. Tom Selleck’s Jesse Stone movies https://mommybearmedia.com/correct-order-jesse-stone-movies/

3. The Lord Peter Wimsey novels of Dorothy L Sayers https://robertarood.wordpress.com/2018/10/25/dorothy-l-sayers-and-the-lord-peter-wimsey-novels/

4. The musicals of Jason Robert Brown https://www.billboard.com/articles/news/broadway/8486801/jason-robert-brown-interview-broadway-composer

5. Bluegrass music http://www.lonelyheartstringband.com/

6. Nate DiMeo’s podcast The Memory Palace http://thememorypalace.us/

Imogen Russell Williams

irw

This week, Imogen Russell Williams talks to Ivan about six things which she thinks should be better known.

  1. The Hounds of the Morrigan by Pat O’Shea www.fantasyliterature.com/reviews/the-hounds-of-the-morrigan/
  2. Carpe diem www.youtube.com/watch?v=DcxFTmBbrIk
  3. Knightmare www.ukgameshows.com/ukgs/Knightmare
  4. Susan Price’s Sterkarm Trilogy www.theguardian.com/books/2004/jan/17/featuresreviews.guardianreview31
  5. The role of libraries and librarians in schools www.publishersweekly.com/pw/by-topic/columns-and-blogs/soapbox/article/77275-the-importance-of-school-librarians.html
  6. Dyslexia and its impact www.jkp.com/jkpblog/2015/08/the-lifelong-social-and-emotional-effects-of-dyslexia/

Andy Reid

andy reid

Andy Reid talks to Ivan about six things which he thinks should be better known.

  1. The Kingdom https://film.avclub.com/the-new-cult-canon-lars-von-triers-the-kingdom-1798214674
  2. Nestle milk boycott http://www.babymilkaction.org/nestlefree
  3. Nuts in May www.bfi.org.uk/news-opinion/news-bfi/features/mike-leigh-nuts-may-alison-steadman
  4. The Hare with Amber Eyes www.edmunddewaal.com/writing/the-hare-with-amber-eyes/about
  5. The Greasy Strangler www.theguardian.com/film/2016/oct/04/greasy-strangler-jim-hosking
  6. Necrotising enterocolitis www.gosh.nhs.uk/medical-information/search-medical-conditions/necrotising-enterocolitis

Will Eaves

will-eaves

Will Eaves is a novelist, poet and teacher. His most recent novel is Murmur. http://www.theguardian.com/books/2018/apr/18/murmer-by-will-eaves-review-alan-turing

Will Eaves discusses with Ivan Wise six things which he thinks should be better known.

1. The Gigue from Handel’s Suite No 1 in A major, for Harpsichord http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dUAspawKf2w
2. The Walled Garden in Brockwell Park https://plewsgardendesign.co.uk/garden-visits-brockwell-park-walled-garden/
3. The paintings and drawings of Danny Markey http://www.redfern-gallery.com/artists/41-danny-markey/#/works/
4. The kindness and wisdom of my friend Bridget https://philosophynow.org/issues/126/Aristotle_on_Forming_Friendships
5. Erwin Schrodinger‘s Tanner lectures on Mind and Matter (1956) http://strangebeautiful.com/other-texts/schrodinger-what-is-life-mind-matter-auto-sketches.pdf
6. The novels Moon’s Ottery by Patricia Beer’s Moon’s Ottery and Sophie and the Sibyl by her niece Patricia Duncker http://www.theguardian.com/news/1999/aug/19/guardianobituaries.johnmullan

Henry Hitchings

hitchings

This week, Henry Hitchings discusses with Ivan six things which he thinks should be better known.

1. Theatre 503 http://www.bbc.co.uk/writersroom/opportunities/Theatre503

2. Germany as a tourist destination http://www.telegraph.co.uk/travel/destinations/europe/germany/articles/reasons-why-we-love-germany/

3. Etivaz cheese http://www.cheesesfromswitzerland.com/cheese-assortment/letivaz-aop.html

4. Fanny Burney http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/b05r3zjk

5. OV Wright http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ktmS2Te06do

6. Hans Baldung Grien https://art.famsf.org/hans-baldung-hans-baldung-grien