Lindsay Johns

LMJ

Writer and broadcaster Lindsay Johns discusses with Ivan six things which he thinks should be better known. Find out more about Lindsay at www.lindsayjohns.com.

  1. The novels of Alex La Guma https://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/b09qcyy0
  2. Archibald Motley, Jr https://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/m000f6xd
  3. To A Poet A Thousand Years HencebyJames Elroy Flecker  https://beta.spectator.co.uk/article/why-james-elroy-flecker-deserves-our-attention
  4. The Martinican film Rue Cases – Negres (1983) http://www.theroot.com/articles/culture/2013/08/honoring_the_french_film_rue_casesnegres/
  5. Platelet donation http://www.blood.co.uk/platelets/ and https://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/m00074hj
  6. Crispy Bamboo Village https://foursquare.com/v/crispy-bamboo-village/4bf348fce5eba593c8711e90/menu

Aceil Haddad

Haddad

Aceil Haddad talks to Ivan about six things which she thinks should be better known.

  1. British seaside towns https://www.roughguides.com/special-features/britains-30-best-seaside-towns/
  2. Charity Shops for sustainable fashion https://www.charityretail.org.uk/charity-shops-the-ethical-and-sustainable-alternative-to-fast-fashion/
  3. Maternity and Pregnancy discrimination https://pregnantthenscrewed.com/
  4. Split Ticketing https://www.splitticketing.com/
  5. The importance of intuition http://theconversation.com/is-it-rational-to-trust-your-gut-feelings-a-neuroscientist-explains-95086
  6. The value of friendships https://www.theguardian.com/lifeandstyle/2019/dec/19/adult-friendships-can-be-effortful-and-elastic-thats-what-makes-them-special

Susannah Clapp

Clapp

Susannah Clapp, theatre critic of The Observer, discusses with Ivan six things which should be better known.

1. Francis Wyndham https://www.theguardian.com/books/2018/jan/09/francis-wyndham-obituary
2. Beatbox Academy https://www.bac.org.uk/content/39748/whats_on/whats_on/events_and_workshops/bac_beatbox_academy
3. Dressing Gowns https://fiveminutehistory.com/10-victorian-dressing-gowns/
4. Armenian postcards https://armenianweekly.com/2011/07/05/old-armenian-postcards-preserve-the-past/
5. Pallant Gallery, Chichester https://pallant.org.uk/
6. Building a Library https://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/articles/4fv78szmZmvB73p2bstPVTT/building-a-library-living-with-the-pathetique

Jim Shepard

jim_shepard_2148_square

Jim Shepard discusses with Ivan six things which should be better known.

Jim has written seven novels, including The Book of Aron, which won the Sophie Brody Medal for Jewish Literature, the PEN/New England Award for Fiction, and the Clark Fiction Prize, and five story collections, including Like You’d Understand, Anyway, a finalist for the National Book Award and Story Prize winner.   Seven of his stories have been chosen for the Best American Short Stories, two for the PEN/O. Henry Prize Stories, and two for Pushcart Prizes.   He’s also won the Library of Congress/ Massachusetts Book Award for Fiction and the ALEX Award from the American Library Association.  He teaches at Williams College. You can read more about Jim.

  1. Paestum http://www.amalficoastdrivers.com/paestum.asp
  2. Muddy Waters’ album Fathers and Sons https://www.rollingstone.com/music/music-album-reviews/fathers-sons-90263/
  3. Maria Beig https://www.theparisreview.org/blog/2015/10/16/no-judgment-no-message-no-mercy/
  4. Eric Schlosser’s Command and Control https://www.nytimes.com/2013/09/15/books/review/command-and-control-by-eric-schlosser.html
  5. Writer’s Tears http://walshwhiskey.com/writers-tears-copper-pot/
  6. Mike Leigh’s Topsy-Turvy https://www.nybooks.com/articles/2000/02/24/stompin-at-the-savoy/

Allison Dufosee

Dufosee

Allison Dufosee discusses with Ivan six things which she thinks should be better known.

Allison is the chief executive of World Bicycle Relief.

1. World Bicycle Relief http://www.worldbicyclerelief.org

2. Stem Cell Donation https://www.anthonynolan.org/

3. Barter Books https://www.barterbooks.co.uk/index.php

4. Gary Rhodes Shepherd’s Pie https://www.amazon.com/New-British-Classics-Gary-Rhodes/dp/0563534117

5. The Ginstitute https://www.theginstitute.com/the-experience/

6. Full Fact http://www.fullfact.org Dufosee

Morag Joss

MJ

Morag Joss discusses with Ivan six things which she thinks should be better known.

Morag Joss’s first three novels are whodunnits, the first of which, Funeral Music, was nominated for a Dilys Award by the USA Independent Booksellers Association and, in translation, is currently top of the ebook crime bestsellers list in Germany. Her later awards and nominations include the CWA Silver Dagger for Half Broken Things (later adapted as a TV film starring Penelope Wilton) and a USA Edgar Best Novel for The Night Following. She also writes opera libretti. Morag is now working on her ninth novel, and leads the MA Creative Writing programme at Oxford Brookes University.

  1. Delfshaven https://www.asthebirdfliesblog.com/posts/photos-of-delfshaven-rotterdam
  2. Public Domain Review – https://publicdomainreview.org
  3. Itchy Coo Press http://www.itchy-coo.com/newtitles.html
  4. Eric Ravilious https://www.nybooks.com/daily/2015/07/16/modern-english-strange-eric-ravilious/
  5. My Dad’s way of making marmalade https://rusticaretro.com/2015/02/20/about-my-father-seville-oranges-and-making-marmalade/
  6. Mahler’s Ich Bin der Welt Abhanden Gekommen’ by Lorraine Hunt Liebersson https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pHDJ3YXH4yU

John Osborne

Osborne

Writer John Osborne discusses with Ivan six things which he thinks should be better known. John writes books, scripts and stories for Radio 4. He co-created the Sky 1 sitcom After Hours.

1. David Berman https://www.poetryfoundation.org/harriet/2019/07/Actual-Air-in-the-Purple-Mountains-An-Interview-With-David-Berman

2. The Greater Anglia Samaritans delay repay donation scheme https://www.greateranglia.co.uk/about-us/news-desk/news-articles/samaritans-receives-boost-greater-anglia-passengers-through-delay

3. The Just Joans https://thejustjoans.bandcamp.com/

4. The sprawling, empty beaches of east Anglia https://www.visitnorfolk.co.uk/inspire/top-10-beaches-secret.aspx

5. The Rob Auton daily podcast https://www.robauton.co.uk/daily-podcast

6. After Hours https://www.sky.com/watch/title/series/51b9b8cf-abce-48f9-b3a1-fa8a88a3abd7