Paul Anthony Jones

Jones

Paul Anthony Jones talks to Ivan about six things which he thinks should be better known. Paul’s books include The Cabinet of Linguistic Curiosities and Around The World in 80 Words. There is more information at http://www.paulanthonyjones.com/books.

1. John Atkinson Grimshaw https://www.tate.org.uk/art/artists/atkinson-grimshaw-227

2. The Sage Gateshead https://www.gateshead.gov.uk/article/5285/Sage-Gateshead

3. Wait Until Dark http://www.rogerebert.com/reviews/wait-until-dark-1968

4. Eric Partridge’s slang dictionaries http://www.theguardian.com/books/2002/dec/07/highereducation.referenceandlanguages

5. James Gordon Bennett Jr http://mentalfloss.com/article/64130/fabulously-eccentric-life-james-gordon-bennett-jr

6. Tori Amos’ 2011 album Night of Hunters https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Night_of_Hunters

Clare Bucknell

Bucknell

Clare Bucknell discusses with Ivan six things which should be better known. You can read her articles for the London Review of Books at www.lrb.co.uk/contributors/clare-bucknell.

  1. Female grand tourists in the late eighteenth century https://cloudfront.escholarship.org/dist/prd/content/qt2bz968nw/qt2bz968nw.pdf
  2. Real tennis https://www.irtpa.com/real-tennis-general-information/
  3. Travelling in Austria (apart from skiing) https://globalgrasshopper.com/destinations/europe/10-beautiful-places-visit-austria/
  4. The satirist John Wolcot, aka Peter Pindar https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/John_Wolcot
  5. Nighty Night https://www.theguardian.com/tv-and-radio/2014/nov/13/nighty-night-box-set-review-julia-davis
  6. TH White’s The Sword in the Stone https://barbarah.wordpress.com/2016/03/24/book-review-the-sword-in-the-stone/

Gary Dexter

Gary

Gary Dexter discusses with Ivan six things which he thinks should be better known.

  1. The scourge of asthma www.asthma-international.org.uk
  2. The early albums of Queen www.uncut.co.uk/reviews/album/queen-the-first-five-albums
  3. The continuing threat of nuclear war https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Doomsday_Clock
  4. Japanese religious syncretism https://www.spectator.co.uk/2017/07/how-japan-rubs-along-with-two-religions-plus-fake-christian-weddings/
  5. The novels of Bernard Malamud www.nybooks.com/articles/1984/01/19/the-shaman-and-the-schlemiel/
  6. The international space station and its achievements www.nasa.gov/mission_pages/station/research/news/15_ways_iss_benefits_earth/

Henriette van der Blom

Henriette

Henriette van der Blom, Senior Lecturer in Ancient History in the Department of Classics, Ancient History and Archaeology at the University of Birmingham, discusses with Ivan six things which should be better known.

1. The oratory of Julius Caesar https://www.cambridge.org/core/books/oratory-and-political-career-in-the-late-roman-republic/0FF23CFD58211BCB8085B9F75664CD72

2. Ancient rhetoric http://www.birmingham.ac.uk/cor

3. The work and legacy of the Danish seismologist Inge Lehmann https://videnskab.dk/naturvidenskab/inge-lehmann-og-de-usynlige-danske-videnskabskvinder

4. The classical derivation of English words https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/English_words_of_Greek_origin

5. Limiting the overuse of modern antibiotics http://www.bbc.com/future/story/20170607-how-we-can-stop-antibiotic-resistance

6. Learning a new language is good for you https://www.britishcouncil.org/voices-magazine/does-being-bilingual-make-you-smarter

Irenosen Okojie

download (1)

Irenosen Okojie talks to Ivan about six things which she thinks should be better known.

1. Electric Arches by Eve L. Ewing https://poetryschool.com/reviews/review-electric-arches-by-eve-ewing/

2. Autograph Gallery http://www.autograph.org.uk

3. Black in The Day http://www.instagram.com/blkintheday/

4. Eve’s Bayou https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Eve%27s_Bayou

5. The Bunker Theatre http://www.bunkertheatre.com

6. New Daughters of Africa Anthology edited by Margaret Busby http://www.the-tls.co.uk/articles/private/review-new-daughters-of-africa/

Monisha Rajesh

Rajesh

This week, Monisha Rajesh discusses with Ivan six things which should be better known.

1. Ray Bradbury’s Fahrenheit 451 http://www.nytimes.com/2018/05/10/books/review/fahrenheit-451-ray-bradbury.html

2. How easy it is to donate to local charities http://www.theguardian.com/money/2012/may/15/best-ways-give-charity-without-donating-money

3. The British Empire should be taught in schools http://www.lrb.co.uk/v23/n14/linda-colley/multiple-kingdoms

4. Emergency SOS dial on iPhones https://support.apple.com/en-gb/HT208076

5. How important it is to travel to places of contention http://www.bloomsbury.com/uk/around-the-world-in-80-trains-9781408869758/

6. Chocolate Guinness cake at Brett and Bailey at Crystal Palace market http://www.brettandbailey.co.uk/news/2016-04-12-we-make-londons-best-chocolate-guinness-cake

Lara Feigel

Feigel

This week, Lara Feigel discusses with Ivan six things which should be better known. Lara’s books include Free Woman and The Bitter Taste of Victory.

1. A Foreign Affair https://directorsseries.net/2016/02/17/billy-wilders-a-foreign-affair-1948/

2. Martha Gellhorn’s Point of No Return http://www.lrb.co.uk/v20/n09/jeremy-harding/no-one-leaves-her-place-in-line

3. Kensal Green cemetery https://londonist.com/2016/10/things-you-didn-t-know-about-kensal-green-cemetery

4. The Ivan Juritz Prize http://www.ivanjuritzprize.co.uk/

5. Doris Lessing’s The Four Gated City https://www.kirkusreviews.com/book-reviews/doris-lessing/four-gated-city/

6. Suffolk estuary near Boyton https://www.rspb.org.uk/reserves-and-events/reserves-a-z/boyton-and-hollesley-marshes/