Kelleigh Greenberg-Jephcott

Kelleigh

This week, Kelleigh Greenberg-Jephcott discusses with Ivan six things which she thinks should be better known.

Kelleigh’s first novel Swan Song was chosen as one of The Times’ Books of 2018.

1. Blackwing Pencils https://palominobrands.com/blackwing/

2. The Savoy Cocktail Book, 1930 http://www.distillerytrail.com/blog/10-classic-cocktails-savoy-cocktail-book-infographic/

3. Marfa, Texas http://www.vogue.com/article/city-dwellers-guide-to-marfa-texas

4. Clay Felker, New York Magazine & the School of New Journalism https://senate.universityofcalifornia.edu/_files/inmemoriam/html/clayfelker.html

5. The Films of Hal Ashby https://variety.com/2018/film/news/hal-ashby-documentary-director-amy-scott-harold-and-maude-being-there-1202925246/

6. Edith Wharton’s Glimpses of the Moon https://heavenali.wordpress.com/2013/08/22/the-glimpses-of-the-moon-edith-wharton-1922/

Dave Pickering

Pickering

This week, Dave Pickering talks to Ivan about six things which he thinks should be better known.

1. Churchill’s crimes of empire https://crimesofbritain.com/2016/09/13/the-trial-of-winston-churchill/

2. Walking in London http://www.telegraph.co.uk/travel/destinations/europe/united-kingdom/england/london/articles/Londons-best-walks/

3. The Moomin Books by Tove Jansson http://www.theguardian.com/books/2014/jan/15/tove-jansson-life-words-westin-review

4. The Will to Change: Men, masculinity and love by bell hooks https://endofcapitalism.com/2009/01/20/review-of-the-will-to-change-men-masculinity-and-love/

5. The Expanse http://www.netflix.com/gb/title/80029822

6. The Boy Who Hasn’t Lived podcast http://www.theboywhohasntlived.com/

Alice Thwaite

Thwaite

This week, Alice Thwaite talks to Ivan about six things she thinks should be better known.

1. Do we want consensus in our public dialogue, or do we want diversity of thought? https://echochamber.club/why-we-should-sometimes-silence-others/

2. Our actions do not necessarily define our character http://www.nytimes.com/2015/02/15/magazine/how-one-stupid-tweet-ruined-justine-saccos-life.html

3. Our reality doesn’t just come from Facebook http://theconversation.com/the-myth-of-the-echo-chamber-92544

4. Jaco Pistorius http://www.thestacksreader.com/who-killed-jaco-pastorius/

5. Travel isn’t just about going to the amazing places that everyone has been to before http://www.reddit.com/r/unpopularopinion/comments/6d4eo0/travelling_is_overrated/

6. This Country http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/b09twr53/episodes/player

James Deacon

Deacon

This week, James Deacon discusses six things which he thinks should be better known.

1. How it Feels to be Attacked by a Shark by Michelle Hamer http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/1954299.How_it_Feels_to_Be_Attcked_by_a_Shark

2. Simon Lyons https://simonlyonsauthor.com/

3. Neighbourhood Bakes https://www.neighbourhoodbakes.com/

4. Nice and Nicely Done by The Spinto Band https://pitchfork.com/reviews/albums/7829-nice-and-nicely-done/

5. Club 85 in Hitchin, Hertfordshire http://www.club-85.co.uk/

6. Desert Island Dicks Podcast http://www.acast.com/desert-island-dicks-podcast

Ben Schott

Schott

This week, Ben Schott discusses six things with Ivan which he thinks should be better known.

1. Stud cufflinks http://www.trendhim.co.uk/articles/the-cufflinks-your-ultimate-guide

2. Polari https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Polari

3. The photomontage artist John Heartfield http://www.moma.org/calendar/exhibitions/393

4. The graphic design of movie poster billing blocks https://archive.nytimes.com/www.nytimes.com/interactive/2013/02/24/opinion/sunday/ben-schott-movies-billing-blocks.html?hp

5. The “Celestial Empire of Benevolent Knowledge” https://garagemca.org/en/event/lecture-by-andrey-velikanov-jorge-luis-borges-the-garden-of-forking-paths-the-analytical-language-of-john-wilkins-chora-the-archaeology-of-knowledge

6. The secret codes of calling cards http://www.faena.com/aleph/articles/on-victorian-cards-for-secret-flirtations/

Emily Midorikawa and Emma Claire Sweeney

Midorikawa

This week, Emily Midorikawa and Emma Claire Sweeney discusses six things which they think should be better known.

1. The crime fiction of Celia Fremlin http://www.independent.co.uk/arts-entertainment/books/reviews/invisible-ink-no-249-celia-fremlin-9847533.html

2. Barreiro http://www.atlaslisboa.com/abandoned-lisboa-the-comboio-graveyard-in-barreiro/

3. Emma Hardinge Britten http://www.ehbritten.org

4. Anne Sharp https://austenprose.com/2008/06/07/jane-austens-dearest-friendship-with-miss-sharp-still-resonates-today/

5. The Japanese countryside https://donnykimball.com/countryside-travel-5c8e789c3fad

6. The history of children with learning disabilities https://langdondownmuseum.org.uk/the-history-of-learning-disability/social-history-of-learning-disability/

Richard Canning

Canning

This week, Richard Canning discusses six things which he thinks should be better known.

1. Ronald Firbank http://www.nytimes.com/1973/07/22/archives/prancing-novelist-the-fixer-of-modern-camp-a-defence-of-fiction-in.html

2. Nils Dardel http://dardel.info/famille/artistes/NilsDardel/NilsDardelE.php

3. The Bathers https://peterross.scot/articles/the-bathers/

4. Karol Szymanowski http://www.roh.org.uk/people/karol-szymanowski

5. The Comeback http://www.hbo.com/the-comeback

6. Tigre https://turismo.buenosaires.gob.ar/en/article/visit-tigre-buenos-aires%E2%80%99-waterside-getaway