Alex Woolf

alex_woolf

Composer Alex Woolf discusses with Ivan six things which should be better known. Find out more about Alex.

  1. Sunday in the Park with George https://www.theguardian.com/stage/2016/oct/27/sunday-in-the-park-with-george-review-jake-gyllenhall-sondheim
  2. Solfege http://www.southcalmusic.com/solfege.php
  3. Evensong https://www.spectator.co.uk/2018/03/the-joy-of-evensong/
  4. Louise Imogen Guiney http://essays.quotidiana.org/guiney/quiet_london/
  5. English National Opera’s Access All Arias https://www.eno.org/your-visit/ways-to-save-offers/
  6. The origin of the Nokia ringtone https://www.classicfm.com/composers/tarrega/nokia-theme-tune-origins/

Charlie Connelly

charlie-connelly-27508

Writer Charlie Connelly discusses with Ivan six things which he thinks should be better known. His books include Attention All Shipping: A Journey Round The Shipping Forecast, And Did Those Feet: Walking Through 2000 Years Of British and Irish History and Our Man In Hibernia: Ireland, The Irish And Me. Read more about Charlie.

1. Noel Coward’s poetry https://www.theguardian.com/books/2011/sep/09/saturday-poem-noel-coward

2. Sheila Borrett https://audioboom.com/posts/927298-sheila-borrett-story-first-woman-bbc-announcer

3. Bap Kennedy https://www.markknopfler.com/discography/bap-kennedy/

4. The Radio Garden App https://radio.garden/

5. The Norwegian Fish Canning Museum, Stavanger https://www.fjordtours.com/things-to-do-in-norway/museums-and-attractions/the-norwegian-canning-museum-stavanger/

6. Fifty Years of Europe: An Album by Jan Morris https://www.amazon.co.uk/Fifty-Years-Europe-Jan-Morris/dp/0679416102

Maya Jasanoff

Jasanoff Head Shot 4

Harvard historian Maya Jasanoff discusses with Ivan six things that she thinks should be better known. Find out more about Maya. Her most recent book is The Dawn Watch.

1. Albert Kahn global photo archive https://allthatsinteresting.com/albert-kahn-archives-of-the-planet

2. Shakespeare Wallah http://www.merchantivory.com/film/shakespearewallah

3. Aeon online magazine https://aeon.co/essays/what-can-the-mirror-test-say-about-self-awareness-in-animals

4. The Invention of Tradition http://www.columbia.edu/itc/journalism/stille/Politics%20Fall%202007/readings%20weeks%206-7/Trevor-Roper,%20The%20Highland%20Tradition.pdf

5. Last Chance U https://www.esquire.com/entertainment/tv/a28523305/last-chance-u-players-in-the-nfl-where-are-they-now-netflix/

6. Khichuri https://www.npr.org/sections/thesalt/2017/07/20/527945413/khichuri-an-ancient-indian-comfort-dish-with-a-global-influence

Petroc Trelawny

BBC Radio 3 Presenters

BBC Radio 3 Breakfast show presenter Petroc Trelawny discusses with Ivan six things which he thinks should be better known.

  1. Miklos Banffy’s Transylvanian Trilogy https://www.theguardian.com/books/booksblog/2011/aug/05/writing-wall-miklos-banffy-summer-readings
  2. Call My Agent  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Call_My_Agent!
  3. Hungarian wine https://winefolly.com/review/hungarian-wines-for-the-win/
  4. Limerick https://www.limerick.ie/limerick-insider/10-facts-you-didnt-know-about-limerick
  5. Lennox Berkeley https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zW_PDF5K4Fc
  6. The Railway Dining Car https://www.gwr.com/plan-journey/journey-information/on-board/pullman-dining

Jeremy Treglown

Treglown

Jeremy Treglown talks to Ivan about six things which he thinks should be better known. Jeremy is chair of Arvon and has written biographies of Roald Dahl, Henry Green, VS Pritchett and John Hersey. He was editor of the Times Literary Supplement between 1981 and 1990.

  1. Carn Brea https://www.cornwalls.co.uk/redruth/carn_brea.htm
  2. Mozart’s Requiem in D minor with soloists taken from the chorus https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OiBZ2C725ns
  3. John Hersey’s Hiroshima https://www.curtisbrown.co.uk/client/jeremy-treglown/work/mr-straight-arrow
  4. Spanish Museum of Abstract Art https://www.nytimes.com/2011/01/30/travel/30overnighter-cuenca.html
  5. Ruth Matilda Anderson’s photos of Spain https://hispanicsociety.org/prints-photographs/
  6. The present isn’t so superior to the past https://archive.triblive.com/news/students-write-about-life-100-years-ago/

Treglown book

Tess Morris

Tess-Morris2

Screenwriter Tess Morris discusses with Ivan six things which she thinks should be better known. Watch the trailer for her film Man Up at https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=22gEHzlaEQw

  1. Magic Mike XXL as feminist masterpiece https://www.vice.com/en_us/article/8gkbak/surprise-magic-mike-xxl-was-the-most-important-feminist-movie-of-2015
  2. The Baked Potato https://thetakeout.com/the-perfect-method-to-make-a-baked-potato-1829350363
  3. Dispelling the myth that you can’t walk in LA https://www.lamag.com/citythinkblog/walking-in-la/
  4. The songwriting of Billy Swan https://www.elvis.com.au/presley/interview-billy-swan.shtml
  5. Don’t look at the time when you have jet lag https://www.skyscanner.net/news/jetlag-15-tips-beating-timezone-tiredness
  6. The Austin Film Festival https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Austin_Film_Festival

Michael Blastland

michael-blastland pic

Journalist Michael Blastland discusses with Ivan six things which he thinks should be better known. You can find out more about Michael and order his book The Hidden Half.

1. The myth of nurture v nature https://www.nature.com/articles/421806a
2. The uncertainty of public data https://medium.com/wintoncentre/has-uk-employment-gone-down-maybe-and-maybe-not-7b2e8fbdc7c5
3. Science’s replication crisis https://www.nature.com/articles/s41562-016-0021
4. The fallibility of medicines https://www.nature.com/news/personalized-medicine-time-for-one-person-trials-1.17411
5. Unknown impact of government’s policies https://www.instituteforgovernment.org.uk/our-work/policy-making/all-change
6. The Mind is Flat, by Nick Chater https://www.amazon.co.uk/Mind-Flat-Illusion-Mental-Improvised/dp/0241208440/ref=sr_1_1?keywords=the+mind+is+flat&qid=1569486201&s=gateway&sr=8-1

hidden Half