JS Watts

Watts

The poet JS Watts talks to Ivan about six things she thinks should be better known. Her books include The Submerged Sea, Years Ago You Coloured Me and Witchlight. More information is at http://www.jswatts.co.uk.

1. Basil Ede https://www.telegraph.co.uk/obituaries/2016/10/28/basil-ede-wildlife-artist–obituary/

2. Chalk Streams https://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/2016/06/06/why-britains-chalk-rivers-are-under-threat/

3. Bartlow Hills, Cambridgeshire http://news.bbc.co.uk/local/cambridgeshire/hi/people_and_places/history/newsid_8692000/8692856.stm

4. Bats https://animals.howstuffworks.com/mammals/13-incredible-bat-facts.htm

5. Poetry https://www.huffpost.com/entry/importance-of-poetry_b_884319

6. French Horn https://www.nytimes.com/2008/08/13/arts/music/13horn.html

David Lough

DLough-author-churchill

David Lough discusses with Ivan six things which he thinks should be better known. David is the author of Darling Winston and No More Champagne.

  1. Prison Reading Groups http://prisonreadinggroups.org.uk/
  2. Henry Strakosch https://www.telegraph.co.uk/books/what-to-read/no-more-champagne-churchill-and-money-david-lough-review/
  3. Lucy Jones https://www.flowersgallery.com/artists/view/lucy-jones
  4. Namib desert https://wwf.panda.org/knowledge_hub/where_we_work/namib_desert/
  5. The London Library https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/London_Library
  6. Cystic fibrosis and orkambi https://www.cysticfibrosis.org.uk/the-work-we-do/campaigning-hard/life-saving-drugs/orkambi

Matthew Sturgis

Sturgis

Matthew Sturgis, biographer of Oscar Wilde, talks to Ivan about six things which should be better known. You can buy Oscar here.

1. Oscar Wilde’s duologues https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Critic_as_Artist

2. The Mortdecai thrillers of Kyril Bonfiglioli https://www.economist.com/prospero/2010/09/29/an-unsung-classic

3. The voice of the Brazilian singer Virginia Rodrigues https://www.independent.co.uk/arts-entertainment/music/features/virginia-rodrigues-the-diva-of-the-favelas-63902.html

4. Spaghetti caccio-pepe https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AztjQDIi3Sw

5. Fitzrovia Chapel http://www.fitzroviachapel.org

6. Sickert’s late works https://www.npg.org.uk/collections/search/person/mp04107/walter-richard-sickert

Geoff Dyer

Dyer

Novelist Geoff Dyer discusses with Ivan six things which he thinks should be better known. Geoff’s books include Broadsword Calling Danny Boy, Out of Sheer Rage and White Sands. You can read more at http://www.geoffdyer.com.

1. Joanna Hogg https://www.newyorker.com/magazine/2019/05/20/joanna-hoggs-self-portrait-of-a-lady

2. Steve Gunn https://www.rollingstone.com/music/music-features/steve-gunn-the-unseen-in-between-interview-777194/

3. Eve Babitz https://www.interviewmagazine.com/culture/rare-interview-eve-babitz-long-sober-cool-author

4. Lomer shoes http://www.lomer.it/en-UK/

5. Luigi Ghiri https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Luigi_Ghirri

6. Calabash literature festival in Jamaica https://www.vogue.com/article/calabash-literary-festival-in-jamaica-is-the-islands-best-kept-secret

Paul Anthony Jones

Jones

Paul Anthony Jones talks to Ivan about six things which he thinks should be better known. Paul’s books include The Cabinet of Linguistic Curiosities and Around The World in 80 Words. There is more information at http://www.paulanthonyjones.com/books.

1. John Atkinson Grimshaw https://www.tate.org.uk/art/artists/atkinson-grimshaw-227

2. The Sage Gateshead https://www.gateshead.gov.uk/article/5285/Sage-Gateshead

3. Wait Until Dark http://www.rogerebert.com/reviews/wait-until-dark-1968

4. Eric Partridge’s slang dictionaries http://www.theguardian.com/books/2002/dec/07/highereducation.referenceandlanguages

5. James Gordon Bennett Jr http://mentalfloss.com/article/64130/fabulously-eccentric-life-james-gordon-bennett-jr

6. Tori Amos’ 2011 album Night of Hunters https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Night_of_Hunters

Clare Bucknell

Bucknell

Clare Bucknell discusses with Ivan six things which should be better known. You can read her articles for the London Review of Books at www.lrb.co.uk/contributors/clare-bucknell.

  1. Female grand tourists in the late eighteenth century https://cloudfront.escholarship.org/dist/prd/content/qt2bz968nw/qt2bz968nw.pdf
  2. Real tennis https://www.irtpa.com/real-tennis-general-information/
  3. Travelling in Austria (apart from skiing) https://globalgrasshopper.com/destinations/europe/10-beautiful-places-visit-austria/
  4. The satirist John Wolcot, aka Peter Pindar https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/John_Wolcot
  5. Nighty Night https://www.theguardian.com/tv-and-radio/2014/nov/13/nighty-night-box-set-review-julia-davis
  6. TH White’s The Sword in the Stone https://barbarah.wordpress.com/2016/03/24/book-review-the-sword-in-the-stone/

Gary Dexter

Gary

Gary Dexter discusses with Ivan six things which he thinks should be better known.

  1. The scourge of asthma www.asthma-international.org.uk
  2. The early albums of Queen www.uncut.co.uk/reviews/album/queen-the-first-five-albums
  3. The continuing threat of nuclear war https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Doomsday_Clock
  4. Japanese religious syncretism https://www.spectator.co.uk/2017/07/how-japan-rubs-along-with-two-religions-plus-fake-christian-weddings/
  5. The novels of Bernard Malamud www.nybooks.com/articles/1984/01/19/the-shaman-and-the-schlemiel/
  6. The international space station and its achievements www.nasa.gov/mission_pages/station/research/news/15_ways_iss_benefits_earth/